Voter Fraud Allowed In Texas (If You Are A White Republican)

Texas’ new voter ID law was in effect for the primary on Tuesday.

Unless you were white, and voting in the Republican Primary.

How do I know this?  I’m white, and I voted in the Republican Primary.  I was not asked to show an ID.  My voter registration card was not signed (I deliberately handed it to them with the unsigned line facing the poll worker) and was not asked to sign the card (as I had been in the Democratic Primary I voted in during a previous year). 

The signature is required in order to vote.  The ID is required in order to vote.  I’m not even a Republican.

And I wasn’t asked to sign the card.  I wasn’t asked for my ID.

And I was allowed to vote in the Republican Primary.

To be clear, I was not trying to vote more than once, not even to vote in both parties’ primary.  I was not trying to pretend to be someone I am not.  I am eligible to vote, and I am registered to vote.  So my complaints are about technicalities rather than on substance or allowance of actual criminal behavior.  But those technicalities will be used (and I am sure were used Tuesday) to disenfranchise eligible, registered voters in Texas, or at least hassle them and make voting more difficult for them.

Because they aren’t white.

As an aside – I voted in the Republican Primary because none of the Democratic races in my district were competitive (only one candidate per race), I have no real preference for the Democratic candidate for the Senate race, and I wanted an opportunity to vote against my current Representative (in an attempt to effect the winner in a district where the Republican will always win), and to have a voice in what Republican will get elected in the Senate race (same problem).  The last time I voted for a Republican, I was in 7th grade.  I was young, and naive enough to buy into Reagan’s “Morning In America”, so I voted for him in my school’s mock election.  An embarassing fact I shall never be able to live down.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

